Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How we make money

Cash offer or listing

Sell to a cash buyer or list: the arithmetic on their own fees

Offerpad states a 5% service fee plus about 1% in closing costs. Opendoor shows its service charge only in your offer. HomeLight's own cash-offer page says most sellers net more on the open market. Here is the net on a $400,000 offer, worked from what each company states.

$376,000
Net on a $400,000 Offerpad offer at 5% + about 1%, before repairs and payoff (our arithmetic)
$400,000
Listing price that nets the same at 5% agent pay + 1% closing (our arithmetic)

Offerpad sell page, read Oct 8, 2026.

House keys handed from one person to another at a front door.

See a cash offer next to an agent's estimate

HomeLight

Simple Sale cash offer

See pricesOpens HomeLight's site. Not a referral link.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. What each cash program states, side by side
  3. The net on a $400,000 cash offer, and the list...
  4. How to read the arithmetic
  5. When the cash offer is worth the gap
  6. Compare a cash offer the right way
  7. Cash offer and listing estimate together
  8. If you list instead
  9. Cash offer questions
  10. Sources

Key facts

  • Offerpad: 'a 5% service fee plus approximately 1% in closing costs', no commissions, no out-of-pocket repairs (a credit adjustment instead), close in 8 to 60 days1.
  • Opendoor: 'Opendoor does not publish a fixed service charge percentage'; repairs are deducted from the offer; close in 21 to 60 days. Its Cash Now, More Later product states 5%3456.
  • HomeLight Simple Sale: 'Most sellers net more on the open market'; close in 10 to 60 days; no fees to see the offer8.
  • Offers sit below resale: a Clever analysis that Opendoor cites found Opendoor's offers averaged 8.79% below the home's eventual resale price and Offerpad's 13.89%7.

What each cash program states, side by side

From each company's own pages, read Oct 8, 2026.

ProgramService feeClosing costsRepairsClosing window
Offerpad15% of purchase priceAbout 1%Credit adjustment; $0 out of pocket8 to 60 days
Opendoor3Varies; shown in your offer1% to 3% (Opendoor's estimate)Estimated and deducted from the offer21 to 60 days
Opendoor Cash Now, More Later55%Standard closing costsNot stated by the sourceNot stated by the source
HomeLight Simple Sale8Not stated by the sourceNot stated by the sourceNot stated by the source10 to 60 days
SourceCompany pagesRead Oct 8, 2026Company pagesRead Oct 8, 2026Company pagesRead Oct 8, 2026Company pagesRead Oct 8, 2026

A dash means the page does not state it. HomeLight's page says there are no fees to see your offer and that the costs of each path are spelled out with it.

The net on a $400,000 cash offer, and the listing price that matches it

Offerpad's stated 5% fee and about 1% closing costs on a $400,000 offer leave $376,000 before any repair credit and your mortgage payoff. The rows show what a listed home must sell for to leave the same, at three levels of total agent pay plus 1% closing costs. Our arithmetic.

Listing with total agent pay ofSale price needed to net $376,000Compared with the $400,000 offer
4%$395,789$4,211 less
5%$400,000The same
6%$404,301$4,301 more
SourceOur arithmetic on Offerpad's stated feesRead Oct 8, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 8, 2026

The listing side leaves out repairs, staging, holding costs and concessions, which Opendoor's own example adds; the cash side leaves out Offerpad's repair credit. Both leave out your mortgage payoff.

How to read the arithmetic

The table compares a cash offer with a listing at the same headline price, and on that basis the fees are close: Offerpad's 5% service fee replaces agent pay, and Opendoor says its service charge is 'comparable to agent commissions'16. The real gap is the price. A cash buyer's offer is not the price your home would fetch listed, and both HomeLight and Offerpad say so on their own pages: 'Most sellers net more on the open market', and 'A cash offer gives you certainty, but a listed home could sell for more'18.

How far apart are they? Opendoor's article cites a February 2026 Clever Real Estate analysis of 409 Opendoor and 123 Offerpad sales from May 2023 to June 2025: Opendoor's offers averaged 8.79% below the home's eventual resale price and Offerpad's 13.89% below7. That resale price comes after the company's own repairs and marketing, so it is not a clean market price. As an illustration only, on a home that resells at $400,000: an offer 13.89% below is $344,440, which nets about $323,774 after Offerpad's stated 5% fee and about 1% closing costs, against $376,000 from a listing at $400,000 with 5% agent pay and 1% closing costs. Opendoor does not publish its fee, so we do not net its 8.79% figure.

Opendoor's own worked example points the other way, because it loads the listing with more costs. On a $350,000 home it uses an illustrative 5% service charge and shows an Opendoor net of $314,900 against $311,000 for a traditional sale that pays 5.5% in commissions, $5,000 in repairs, $1,500 in staging, $4,500 in holding costs and $3,500 in concessions6. Both are worth running with your own numbers: the concessions and repairs you would really face, and the agent pay you would really negotiate910.

When the cash offer is worth the gap

Timing. You pick the closing date: 8 to 60 days out with Offerpad, 21 to 60 with Opendoor, 10 to 60 with HomeLight Simple Sale168. A listing needs showings, a buyer and that buyer's financing.

Repairs you cannot or will not do. Offerpad 'buys homes as-is' and settles repairs through a credit adjustment; Opendoor estimates repairs and deducts them from the offer14. Either way you pay for the repairs, just without hiring contractors.

Moving help and eligibility. Offerpad offers free moving within 80 miles, one 16-ft container2. Opendoor says it generally buys homes built after 1930, priced up to $1.4 million, on lots up to 2 acres, and that its extended stay of up to 17 days is paid7.

HomeLight's Simple Sale puts a cash offer beside an open-market estimate from a local agent and says you 'will be told which case you are in'8. Whichever service you use, get the listing estimate in writing next to the offer.

Compare a cash offer the right way

  1. Step 1

    Get the offer's full breakdown

    Opendoor's offer lists the service charge and estimated standard costs; Offerpad states 5% plus about 1%.

  2. Step 2

    Get a listing estimate from an agent

    In writing, with the agent's rate and what they expect for repairs and concessions.

  3. Step 3

    Compare net, not price

    Opendoor's own advice: 'look at your net proceeds'. Subtract every cost from both sides.

  4. Step 4

    Put a value on time

    Months of mortgage, taxes and insurance while a listing sits are real costs.

Cash offer and listing estimate together

If you list instead

Good for a second agent-matching service to compare

FastExpert

Terms
Read them on FastExpert's own pages
Visit FastExpertOpens FastExpert's site. Not a referral link.
What to check first
  • How agents are chosen and ranked
  • Whether matched agents will call you
  • What you pay, and what the agent pays

Cash offer questions

How much does Opendoor charge?

Opendoor does not publish a fixed percentage; its service charge varies by market and home and is shown in your offer breakdown. Its Cash Now, More Later product states 5%. Standard closing costs are added.

How much does Offerpad charge?

Offerpad says 'a 5% service fee plus approximately 1% in closing costs', with no commissions or concessions and repairs settled through a credit adjustment.

Do cash buyers pay less than market value?

Usually, by their own framing: HomeLight says most sellers net more on the open market, and a Clever analysis cited by Opendoor found offers averaged 8.79% (Opendoor) and 13.89% (Offerpad) below the eventual resale price.

How fast can I close?

Offerpad 8 to 60 days, Opendoor 21 to 60 days, HomeLight Simple Sale 10 to 60 days, each as the seller chooses.

Do I pay for repairs on a cash sale?

You do, through the offer: Opendoor deducts estimated repairs from it, and Offerpad uses a credit adjustment. You do not hire contractors.

Is a cash offer better if I need to move fast?

It can be, if speed or certainty is worth the gap. Compare the net from both sides on paper first, using a written agent estimate.

Sources

  1. Sell your house (costs and fees, FAQ)Offerpad, read Oct 8, 2026
  2. Free moving servicesOfferpad, read Oct 8, 2026
  3. What is Opendoor's service charge? (updated March 10, 2026)Opendoor help center, read Oct 8, 2026
  4. What's in your offer (updated March 10, 2026)Opendoor help center, read Oct 8, 2026
  5. What fees does Opendoor charge? (agent help, updated July 20, 2026)Opendoor help center, read Oct 8, 2026
  6. How selling to Opendoor compares to a traditional home sale (updated May 21, 2026)Opendoor, read Oct 8, 2026
  7. What's better than Opendoor? (updated May 26, 2026)Opendoor, read Oct 8, 2026
  8. Simple SaleHomeLight, read Oct 8, 2026
  9. What the NAR Settlement Means for Home Buyers and SellersNational Association of REALTORS, read Oct 8, 2026
  10. Consumer Guide: Seller ConcessionsNational Association of REALTORS, read Oct 8, 2026
  11. Home page (blocked our reader on Oct 8, 2026; nothing quoted)FastExpert, read Oct 8, 2026
  12. Client-agent matching (FAQ)HomeLight, read Oct 8, 2026

About this page

Programs, fees and terms belong to each company and can change. The company's own page is the final word on price, eligibility and terms.

SellSmart Match is not a real estate brokerage, agent, lender or law firm. Nothing here is legal, tax or financial advice, and we do not pass your details to anyone.